Conference of our Many Selves

At a resent retreat we were encouraged to meditate on (think deeply and prayerfully about) our many selves. We thought about the different roles we each play (for me it was husband, father, son, brother, employee, employer, etc.) and brought them prayerfully to God. We thought about 1 Corinthians 12:12-31 where Paul writes about the body of Christ and says that no part of the body is more or less important; each is part of the body. We recognised that each of these many “selves” is an important part of the body of Christ.

The following poem emerged from my meditation during the afternoon.

A husband, a lover, employee, a friend;
A preacher, a father, an uncle, and son.
These aren’t different people all coming together;
They are me; I am they, and together we’re one.

But are we all one? Am I all the same?
Does my wife know the kindness expressed to a friend?
Does my boss know the person my Church friends have known?
Am I true to myself? Is it all just pretend?

Oh to be one and authentic and true.
Not to be bland, without mystery or fun,
But filled with the Spirit in each of these roles,
Bringing hope to the world, being led by the Son.

2 Comments

Filed under Meditation & Prayer, Poetry

2 responses to “Conference of our Many Selves

  1. An excellent observation during you meditation…I have found that people are not the same to everyone…but vary according to the expectations of others…rather then being consistent with their witness.

    Like

Join the discussion; leave a comment

