Freshly Pressed with Harry Potter

I cannot begin to express the incredible sense of privilege I feel at having been “Freshly Pressed” by the Editor, Joy Victory, at WordPress.

Using her particular guidelines, Joy takes what she considers to be her “choice” WordPress blogs of the day and highlights them for a day. The result is that instead of a trickle of visits, hundreds of people stopped by to read what I had written about Harry Potter. That in itself was an honour, but the responses people left behind were humbling and hugely encouraging for my writing.

A colleague once said that, in the face of much praise, one should breathe in but not inhale. I’m trying hard not to inhale…..

There have been a couple of detractors of course. The saddest thing about these is that there is no room for debate. On the strength of one blog post it is decreed that I am so far gone that others should “leave him to his fate”. Quite convenient, really, because then we don’t have to engage, encourage, embrace or, of course, love.

Like the Pharisees, who stood by watching to see if they could trap Jesus, we seem only interested in the keeping of laws. Bible laws, of course, but only those we feel comfortable with. None of this namby pamby love that Jesus sought to demonstrate. “Rightness over intimacy” is what Mark Buchanan called it in his excellent book, The Rest of God. I struggle with the same tendency so I’m not pointing fingers here. Anyway, next week it’ll be back to the realities of a bloggers lonely existence but, for now, I am on top of the world. (Don’t inhale! Don’t inhale! Don’t inh……………..)

12 Comments

Filed under Harry Potter

12 responses to “Freshly Pressed with Harry Potter

  1. Pingback: Two Years Ago………. | Wondering Preacher

  2. Pingback: Lies, Damned Lies, and Statistics | Wondering Preacher

  3. Pingback: 2010 in review | Wondering Preacher

  4. Seriously, 1300 hits then 1500! Man that’s fantastic. I’ve never won anything but I’ve had a few anomalies when I accidently wrote articles that were vogue for a few days.

    I’m on Afrigator and Amatomu but not myScoop. Do you get much traffic from those services?

    Like

    • It was scary. But pretty exhilarating. Of course, now it’s kinda back to normal.
      Problem is that when you don’t post every day people lose track.
      I don’t seem to get much from any of the three. Perhaps it’s early days. Freshly Pressed was somethig of an anomaly to say the least!
      Thanks.

      Like

  5. BTW, you may be right about it wearing off… My claim to fame was getting a guest post on Michael Hyatt’s blog (famous leadership blog, CEO of Thomas Nelson Publishing) and it was just like you say. I was “famous” for a couple days, and then it fizzled right out. I think i still have a couple of email subscriptions lingering on, but that’s about it!

    I have another blogger friend who was featued in USA Today, and same thing. It was a fun blast, then all gone.

    But enjoy it while it lasts!

    Like

  6. WHOA!!! (jealous! a bit.) I always looked at those Freshly Pressed and wondered, “gee, how do they get selected? And why haven’t they selected me?”

    Congratulations dude. 120 comments? That is crazy. Now I’ll go look to see how crazy the comments are!

    Like

  7. pistolpete

    Congrats on being “freshly pressed”. It sounds exciting (and a bit intimidating).

    Like

    • Thanks.
      It is (intimidating). I have this sense that I have to keep doing something spectacular. No doubt that’ll wear off in a day or two……..
      I’ve added your site to my blogroll. I look forward to sharing your journey.

      Like

Join the discussion; leave a comment

