Christchurch earthquake tragedy

It is such a difficult thing to have children on the other side of the world at the epicentre of an earthquake, devastation all round them, and you can’t do a single thing to reach them, let alone help them.  An eight-month-old baby and no power, no water, no sewage, and no idea how long the food that’s in the house will have to last.

My little family in Christchurch were among the fortunate ones.  Their house was not damaged and they were able to take in other family members who were not so fortunate.  The power came back on just before they went to sleep on the first night and they were able to source water from a friend.

Christchurch survived the more powerful but less catastrophic earthquake in September last year and all its aftershocks.  I think that people had just begun to relax again thinking that they were over the worst.  Now this new catastrophe, and more aftershocks.  80 deaths confirmed and too many more still missing.  The iconic tower of the Cathedral is in ruins as are many other buildings.  The original Methodist Church, in which my son and his wife were married, is gone, only the front door standing.

Being this close to tragedy makes one realise just how anaesthetised we tend to be, unable to give full attention or take in the intensity of the anguish and distress that’s all around us. 

I had a call at about six on Monday evening and another on Tuesday evening from a call centre looking for donations towards two different and well-respected charities.  Worthy causes, but I am not enthused by either of them.  Neither of them grabs my attention.  Those suffering from the illnesses that the charities focus on have my sympathy and I am moved by what they suffer, but not moved to action.  

HIV/AIDS, poverty and unemployment in South Africa produce untold stories of misery and heartache.  The protests and violent suppression in North Africa are creating their own horrors.  Then this news comes in from the other side of the world and I’m there, involved; my prayers are focused and intense.

I feel guilty about the intensity of my prayers.  A voice asks why I don’t pray just as intensely for people dying in Libya, Bahrain and down the road.  But I don’t think that’s God’s word of reprimand. 

Prayer is not a shopping list that we throw at God hoping that he will take care of the details while we go about our business.  Were that so, we could throw every news headline at God as it comes off the wires.  “Here’s another one, Lord.  Look after these folks, and these, and these.  And intervene over here, and over there, and there.”

That’s not prayer.  Intercession is much more than mere words.  It’s a commitment.  It’s engaging with God for the suffering in us and around us.  That engagement is real.  Sometimes it’s an angry, intense experience of wrestling with God against injustice or gratuitous suffering; the type of wrestling we find so often in the Psalms.  Sometimes it’s a gentle ongoing talking with God, keeping ourselves in touch with the need and open to God’s interventions and his call. 

I can throw all the needs of the world at God in a rush of chatter, but then I will not hear God calling me to action; I’ll be too busy worrying about the next crisis to listen.  Far better to let God prompt me, either through close family involvement, or through some other connection, into meaningful caring prayer for a particular need.  Then I will be able to listen to the prompting of the Spirit, whether God is calling me to more focused prayer or to more direct action.  I might, through laziness, indifference or a host of other sins, miss God’s prompting towards a particular need, but I think God would rather I missed something to pray for than have me babble away about everything and anything without meaning and without engagement.

So, forgive me if I seem out of focus for a bit.  My attention and my prayers are on a small city on a small island at the bottom of the world, where a terrible tragedy has engulfed a nation and buffeted a little family in its path.

9 Comments

Filed under Community, Meditation & Prayer

9 responses to “Christchurch earthquake tragedy

  1. Rather than lost focus, it seems like found focus through heightened awareness and attentiveness through personal connection. It answers perfectly my question elsewhere “Where am I in all this?”

    Like

  2. Pingback: Do we need a Saviour? | Wondering Preacher

  3. Pingback: A Prayer about Prayer | Wondering Preacher

  4. Pingback: What is prayer? | Wondering Preacher

  5. Pingback: Does God Care (about Christchurch)? | Wondering Preacher

  6. “Far better to let God prompt me, either through close family involvement, or through some other connection, into meaningful caring prayer for a particular need. Then I will be able to listen to the prompting of the Spirit, whether God is calling me to more focused prayer or to more direct action.”

    I understand and agree. Interestingly, my most consistently divinely guided prayer focus has been a family that is also connected to this tragedy. A friend of mine from high school (not a believer then or most of her adulthood) went to school in Christchurch. She met and married a man from NZ; they moved to the States and had two children. A year and a half ago, when the youngest child was just two years old, my friend died from advanced melanoma. (I have good reason to believe she trusted the Lord at the end). Her husband, a stand up guy, is still in the states, raising a six year old and a four year old alone. I spoke with him the other day, and at that time two of his friends in Christchurch were missing.

    All of that to say, I had a special burden for my friend for many years. Long before I knew about the cancer. And when she married, I prayed for her husband and kiddos too. Now it is easy to see why.

    I don’t have to wait for a special prompting to pray, but God certainly does that…and he knows what he is doing.

    Like

    • Thanks Crystal.
      Yes, God knows who’s best suited for what.
      What makes this and other disasters (man-made or otherwise) deeply moving is not so much the big picture, but the so-called small stories; individuals and families struggling against the odds, and the golden threads that draw even us into the pain and suffering on the other side of the world.
      Thanks for sharing your piece of the puzzle, your golden thread.

      Like

  7. Thank you for your prayers! Always nice to share with you.
    And ours are with you for your next step. ONE to go! WOW.
    God bless

    Like

  8. Thank you so much for sharing your personal connection to this terrible tragedy. This gives me a focus for my prayers for that devastated region. Blessings to you and yours today.

    Like

Join the discussion; leave a comment

