Tenebrae: the shadows gather

Click on picture for more informationThe shadows gather around you.
The crowd has forgotten its hosannas;
They are learning a new song: Crucify!
Not my will, but yours be done.

The knowledge of what is to come
lies heavy on your shoulders.
There is the crowd, of course;
And there is (how do we begin to imagine it)
There is the cross.
Not my will, but yours be done.

But there is also the betrayal—
You knew it was coming.
You knew about the denial, too.
You knew they would desert you.
Not my will, but yours be done.

How could you possibly go ahead
If your very disciples were going to leave you?
You loved the world;
Your death would save the world.
But who would ever know?
What if the world was never to find out?
Not my will, but yours be done.

That’s the point, isn’t it?
“Not my will, but yours be done.”
Ours are human questions;
The human Jesus could not face the cross
With these questions swirling through his head.

Not my will, but yours be done.
“Into your hands I commit my spirit.”
For me, for every one of us,
You held the Father’s hand
And walked to Calvary.
You walked through the betrayal,
The denial, the desertion.
You took my sin and walked to the cross.

And the darkness was complete.

8 Comments

Filed under Prayers and Meditations

8 responses to “Tenebrae: the shadows gather

  1. Deeply impacting.

    Like

  2. Norma Webster

    When you have walked this Holy week, (using John’s gospel) from Palm Sunday to the Cross, how can you ever doubt the authenticity of Jesus Christ? Easter is, for me, the most important time of the year. Christmas is wonderful when we think of the Father’s extravagance in sending us His beloved, only Son. What a gift. But we must remember that the Babe in the manger was the man who gave His life on the bloodied Cross. His Life that I should have everlasting life – my sins, the nails in His hands and feet. No wonder I can never sing “When I behold the Wonderous Cross” Thanks Ian for reminding me “Not my will but Thine be done” Love Mum

    Like

  3. Marilyn Smith

    Thank you, Jesus!

    Like

  4. Amen. thank you. all creation waits, in suspense, while God is suspended from the cross among us. breathing itself is paused. the world’s in limbo.

    Like

Join the discussion; leave a comment

